Sun & Fun | Summer 2020 Favorites

PLEASE NOTE: This post contains affiliate links for which I receive a small commission if you use them to purchase an item. Hello, dear friends! I hope you are all well and if not I hope you are able to see brighter days soon! As you probably know, summer in the northern hemisphere is coming to […]

Read More

It Was All A Haze… | Lila Reviews The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert (And Gives A Short, Feminist Rant) + AESTHETIC

Title: The Hazel Wood Author: Melissa Albert Format: Audiobook Narrator: Rebecca Soler Running Time: 10 hours, 30 minutes TRIGGER WARNINGS: Suicide, violence, blood and gore (PLEASE NOTE: Although I have not currently ascertained the need for any trigger warnings when it comes to this title, please inform me if  have missed something and I will update this section) Goodreads […]

Read More

Lila Tries to PODCAST?! | Lila’s Bookish New Year’s Podcast

Hey, y’all, it’s Lila! Today I’m bringing you something a little…different. While I know I’m pretty good at writing, I often find that I express myself better out loud. I’m an extrovert so speaking has always come easy for me and, for me, writing has always been kinda like an extension of speaking. Given this, […]

Read More

Dividing My Heart | Lila Reviews Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau

Title: Diving Eden Author: Joelle Charbonneau Format: Audiobook Narrator: Lauren Fortgang Running Time: 9 hours, 48 minutes TRIGGER WARINGS: Substance abuse Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Summary: From the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas. Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With […]

Read More

Back With A Vengeance | Lila Reviews Avenged by Amy Tintera

Title: Avenged Author: Amy Tintera Format: Audiobook Narrator: Emily Rankin Running Time: 11 hours, 7 minutes TRIGGER WARINGS: PTSD Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Summary: A war that will fuel her. A bond that will destroy her. Emelina Flores has come home to Ruina. After rescuing her sister, Olivia, from imprisonment in rival kingdom Lera, Em and Olivia together vow to rebuild Ruina to its […]

Read More

An Epic Pirate Adventure | Lila Reviews Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

Title: Daughter of  the Pirate King Author: Tricia Levenseller Format: Audiobook Narrator: Marisa Calin Running Time: 7 hours, 25 minutes TRIGGER WARINGS: Passing insinuated rape threats, brief attempted rape Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Summary: There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for. Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key […]

Read More

Lila’s Take | Wishing for Witches in YA

Hello, folks, my name is Lila and I have a bone to pick with the whole YA publishing industry. What’s the super important issue I’m here to gripe about? Well, ya see, friends, I’m here to grouse about the fact that we have so few books centering around witches on the YA market! I don’t know […]

Read More

Wickedly Wonderful | Lila Reviews Forest of a Thousand

Title: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns Author: Julie C. Dao Format: Audiobook Narrator: Kim Mai Guest Running Time: 13 hours, 21 minutes TRIGGER WARNINGS: Child abuse (physical and emotional), violence and gore Goodreads Summary: An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress–and the darkness she must unleash […]

Read More

Reading, Ranting, Raving, Roaring | Lila Reviews Roar by Cora Carmack

Title: Roar Author: Cora Carmack Format: Audiobook Narrator: Soneela Nankani Running Time: 13 hours, 25 minutes TRIGGER WARNINGS: Some violence, anxiety, panic attacks, depressive behavior Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Summary: In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them. Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged […]

Read More

Privateer Perfection | Lila Reviews Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser + Aesthetic

Title: Song of the Current Author: Sarah Tolcser Format: Audiobook Narrator: Stephanie Willing Running Time: 9 hours, 42 minutes TRIGGER WARNINGS: N/A (Note: please inform me if any trigger warning needs to be added and I will update the post) Rating:  ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Summary: Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by […]

Read More